Grand Hotel, Malahide, County Dublin, Ireland
Tel. +353 1 845 0000 Fax +353 1 816 8225
Malahide is designated as a national heritage town. The town is very attractively laid out; its streets radiate from the central diamond and are lined with colourful shops, merging with terraces of graceful homes, neat gardens.
At the waterfront we have a beautiful Marina and coastal walks. The town's major tourist attraction is Malahide Castle Demesne and of course the many restaurants and bars that constitute the vibrant social life of the town.
Download a Fingal Tourist Map here
This castle was built in the 12th Century by the Talbot family, who remained in residence until 1975 when it came into State ownership. It attracts thousands of visitors every year and in 2012 a major renovation was completed. Now visitors can enjoy not only the Castle, but a Visitor Centre and access to the previously closed Gardens which contain many rare species. These Gardens are a major addition to botanical heritage of the country. There are many period rooms on view and the Castle contains part of the National Portrait Collection of the National Gallery of Ireland. The Demesne has pleasant walks, play and picnic areas, a cricket pitch, tennis courts, 9-hole golf course and a pitch and putt course. W: www.malahidecastleandgardens.ie
Avoca is an Irish family-run business that is one of the world's oldest surviving manufacturing companies. The Avoca store is home to an extensive range of clothing, artesian foods and the famous Avoca café. They export their famous throws & blankets as well as the clothing ranges to boutiques around the world and have their own food label with dozens of delicious products. There are Avoca perfumes, glassware, ceramics... enough to satisfy all your gift and gourmet needs. W: www.avoca.ie
Malahide Walking ToursWalking tours of Malahide daily from Malahide Train StationT: 01 845 5318 or 087 759 8345W: www.malahidewalkingtours.comMore information (pdf)
Berths and Cruiser hire.T: +353-1-84541490W: www.malahidemarina.net
DMG Sailsports: Powerboat, Windsurf & Sailing School Specialising in small groups from beginner to high performance. T: +353-1-8456946W: www.dmgsailsports.com
The Casino was designed by Sir William Chambers as a pleasure house for James Caulfeild, 1st Earl of Charlemont. It is one of the finest 18th century neo-classical buildings in Europe The Casino, meaning "small house", surprisingly contains 16 finely decorated rooms, endlessly rich in subtlety and design. It is a remarkable building – both in terms of structure and history.W: www.heritageireland.ie/en/Dublin/CasinoMarino
Built in 1736 for Archbishop Cobbe. Original furniture, paintings and objets d'art are a feature of this gracious Georgian house. The extensive 150 hectare demesne includes a walled garden, a wildlife and Deer Park, playing and walking areas and a 19th Century working farm, where animals, machinery and old farming techniques are on view. A museum of 19th Century rural life is contained in picturesque old buildings around the 18th century courtyard.T: +353-1-8436064 / +353-1-8436535W: www.dublintourist.com/details/newbridge_house.shtml
Built in 1737. Now beautiful restored and furnished in Victorian style, the principal rooms, kitchens and the Down Survey Exhibition (a series of survey maps from 1654) are open to the public. The park commands views of the coast and contains a rose garden, a walled herb garden and Victorian conservatory.T: +353-1-8492212W: www.visitdublin.com
Skerries Mills complex comprises a watermill, 5-sail windmill, 4-sail windmill and associated mill races, mill pond and wetlands. The history of the mill can be traced to the early 16th century and a bakery was established on the site by 1840.T: +353-1-8495208W: www.skerriesmills.org
Designated a World Heritage Centre by UNESCO, The Megalithic Passage Tomb at Newgrange was built about 3200 BC. The mound covers an area of over one acre and is surrounded by 97 kerbstones, some of which are richly decorated with megalithic art. The 19 metre long inner passage leads to a cruciform chamber with a corbelled roof. It is estimated that the construction of the Passage Tomb at Newgrange would have taken a work force of 300 at least 20 years.W: www.newgrange.com
There is an excellent children’s playground in the grounds of Malahide Castle.
Situated in Coolock, 6km drive, this site features a cinema multiplex, bowling alley, Q-zar, Pompeii Paints, Zoo (children’s adventure play area) and a diner.
Located in the Phoenix Park, 12km drive, the Zoo is always popular with children.
Opening Times:Monday to Saturday | Summer: 9.30 a.m. - 6.00 p.m. | Winter: 9.30 a.m. - DuskSunday | Summer: 10.30 a.m. - 6.00 p.m | Winter: 10.30 a.m. - Dusk
Directions to ZooDrive to the city centre via the Malahide road, Fairview, Amiens Street. Cross the river Liffey and turn right down the quays as far as Heuston Station, turn right back over the Liffey and turn left onto Parkgate Street. Enter Phoenix Park at the main entrance off Parkgate Street and follow the Zoo signs. From the City centre the 25 & 26 buses from Middle Abbey Street pass the Zoo.
Lion's Club Event 18th Maymore
Grand Hotel - Malahide, County Dublin, Ireland - Tel. +353 1 845
0000 Fax +353 1 816 8225 - Email: firstname.lastname@example.org